Criminal Procedure Rules Committee – Appointment of Member

The Criminal Procedure Rules Committee was established by Article 111 of the Criminal Procedure (Jersey) Law 2018 ("the 2018 Law"). Article 111(4) of the 2018 Law sets out the membership of the Committee and that one of the members shall be a person nominated by the Chief Minister (see Article 111(4)(h)).

It should be noted that the legal transfer of responsibility for justice within the executive, from the Chief Minister to the Minister for Home Affairs, will soon take effect. In order, however, that the appointment under Article 111(4)(h) can be made without delay, and whilst the legal transfer of justice policy is finalised, the Chief Minister will make this nomination to the Committee. In doing so, the Chief Minister has consulted and obtained the agreement of the Minister for Home Affairs.

The Bailiff has also been consulted in accordance with Article 111(5) and confirmed that he is content with the nomination.

The Chief Minister accordingly nominates Mr Nathan Fox for membership of the Committee.